Solzhenitsyn on Russia and the West – The Imaginative Conservative

Joseph Pearce

“In 1998 I had the inestimable pleasure and honour of interviewing Alexander Solzhenitsyn at his home outside Moscow. As I traveled to Russia I had no idea why he should have granted me an exclusive interview when he had shunned the advances of Western writers much more accomplished and better known. He had a reputation as being reclusive and also of being suspicious of journalists and biographers in general, and Western journalists and biographers in particular. I was, therefore, mystified by his acceptance of my wishful letter requesting an interview. When I had written it, I had only one published biography to my name. Why on earth would the great Russian writer say “yes” to me when he had said “no” to everyone else? …Perhaps “Chesterton” was the magic word that earned me the interview.” Continue…

For more on Solzhenitsyn see Solzhenitsyn’s Abiding Relevance on Facebook: …Here

